Putin finalizes the annexation of four regions, while Ukraine recovers other territories – The Mazatlán Post

Thursday 6 October, 2022
1 min read


The Russian President, Vladimir Putin signed on Wednesday the annexation law for four Ukrainian regions and the decrees formally appointing the leaders that Moscow had already established there.

The texts signed by Putin stipulate that the regions of Donetsk, Lugansk, Kherson and Zaporizhia are accepted “within the Russian Federation in accordance with the Constitution” of the country.

You can also read: I can not carry that sin: Russian rapper kills himself to avoid fighting in Ukraine

Despite international outrage and military defeats on the ground, Putin annexed those four regions that the Russian army controls in part, considering that they were rightfully returning to Russia after the hasty organization of controversial referendums.

Putin also signed decrees formally appointing the current Moscow-backed leaders of the four regions as their acting authorities.

Before Putin’s signature, the annexation legislation was unanimously supported by the lower and upper houses of the Russian Parliament.

Ukraine advances and Russia threatens to recover lost areas

Russia promised on Wednesday to recover the reconquered territories by kyiv within the Ukrainian regions that it annexed, ensuring that these territories will be Russian forever.

These “territories will be recovered and we will continue to consult the (local) population about their desire to live in Russia,” the Russian presidential spokesman told the press. Dmitry Peskov.

The Kremlin spokesman was consulted about the exact borders of the annexed regions, where the Russian forces abandoned some localities after the Ukrainian counteroffensives.

“These territories will be with Russia forever, they will be recovered,” insisted Peskov.

The Russian President, Vladimir Putin signed this Wednesday the annexation law of the Donetsk and Lugansk regions, in the east of Ukraine and Kherson and Zaporizhia, in the south, as parts of the Russian Federation.

The four territories create a crucial land corridor between Russia and the Crimean peninsula, which was annexed by Moscow in 2014. In total, the five regions account for about 20 percent of Ukraine.

But Russian forces do not have complete control over Kherson and Zaporizhia and the Russian government has not yet specified which areas of those regions it is annexing.

Ukraine claimed this Wednesday advances military in the Luhansk region (east), hitherto almost entirely controlled by Russia.

“Now it’s official. The unemployment of the Lugansk region has begun. Several localities have already been released from the russian army and the Ukrainian armed forces are raising the Ukrainian flag there,” said the Ukrainian governor of the region, Sergei Gaidai.

The Ukrainian army has achieved in recent weeks important advances in the north of the Kherson region (south) and has recovered almost the entire Kharkov region (northeast).

Ukrainian President Volodimir Zelensky said on Tuesday that “this week alone” “dozens of towns” were liberated in the four regions that Russia annexed (Lugansk, Donetsk, Kherson and Zaporizhia).

Source link

Source: from El Sol de Mazatlán | Noticias Locales, Policiacas, sobre México, Sinaloa y el Mundo – frontpage on 2022-10-05 06:50:08

Latest News

Don't Miss